‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ gets it’s Christian and Ana!

The big news has finally been announced. ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ fans have been waiting, impatiently might I add, for the announcement on who would be portraying Christian Grey and Ana Steele.

Charlie Hunnam, known for his role in Sons of Anarchy and this summer’s box office hit Pacific Rim. The young Hunnam came out on top of fan favorites Ian Somerhalder and Henry Cavill. UK born Hunnam was announced to the world via the author, EL James, Twitter!

[tweet https://twitter.com/E_L_James/status/374562375854075904]

Dakota Johnson, until this announcement not a household name, has been cast as Anastasia Steele. Johnson has been seen in 21 Jump Street, The Five Year Engagement and Beastly. Fans are already in an uproar over what they deem “poor” casting. They have taken to social media to express their disappointment in the direction of the project.

 

My opinion:

Although I was rooting for Matt Bomer or Ian Somerhalder for  Christian, I am pleased with the choice of Charlie Hunnam. His acting range is superb. He definitely is strong in what he does. If you haven’t seen SOA or Pacific Rim, I suggest you do so. I think he’ll do a wonderful job on this film. I’m glad that he decided to go ahead with the project.

As far as Ana is concerned, I am disappointed with the casting choice. Dakota Johnson has yet to hold a pivotal role in a film that catches my attention so far. If I ask most people who have seen something she was in they have no idea who she is. Her acting leaves little imprint on the mind and this worries me that Ana will become devoid of depth. The writing can be superb but if you have a mediocre actress in the role, it completely ruins it.

We will keep following all the news and hope that our minds are changed upon release of the film.

 

FIfty Shades of Grey hits theaters August 2014.

Share your thoughts with me!

